Difference between revisions of "Account Management"

From TheHostingTool Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with 'In TheHostingTool, you can manage your clients by suspending, unsuspending and terminating their accounts. These functions can be used if users do not meet Paid/Post2Host require…')
 
Line 1: Line 1:
 
In TheHostingTool, you can manage your clients by suspending, unsuspending and terminating their accounts. These functions can be used if users do not meet Paid/Post2Host requirements, if the accounts in question violate the Terms of Service, server upgrades to avoid site modification, etc.
 
In TheHostingTool, you can manage your clients by suspending, unsuspending and terminating their accounts. These functions can be used if users do not meet Paid/Post2Host requirements, if the accounts in question violate the Terms of Service, server upgrades to avoid site modification, etc.
 +
 +
==Suspension==
 +
'''Suspension''' is the disactivation of a cPanel account. It will not cause the user to lose data, but will lock down FTP access, databases, their Apache virtual host, and any other functions associated with their account (SSH, cPanel, etc).
 +
 +
Suspending an account requires access to the administrator control panel. To suspend an account:
 +
# Log into the Admin CP
 +
# Go to the Clients area (in the sidebar)
 +
# Search for the client you would like to suspend
 +
# Click on their cPanel username or domain
 +
# Click on Suspend Account
 +
 +
Their account is now suspended and nobody will be able to access it until it is unsupended. All visitors will be redirected to the suspended page you set in WHM (Account Functions > Modify Suspended Account Page). To unsuspend their account, perform steps 1-4 but click on Unsuspend Account. The link has been replaced since their account is already suspended.
 +
 +
==Termination==
 +
'''Termination''' is the '''complete removal of a cPanel account.''' The user will lose all data associated with their account on the server, remove FTP accounts, remove databases, SSH access and all cPanel functions they were assigned. There is no terminated account page, so users will not receive any notification of their account being terminated unless they are emailed manually.
 +
 +
Terminating an account requires access to the administrator control panel. To terminate an account:
 +
# Log into the Admin CP
 +
# Go to the Clients area (in the sidebar)
 +
# Search for the client you would like to terminate
 +
# Click on their cPanel username or domain
 +
# Click on Terminate Account
 +
 +
<div style="color:#ff0000; display:inline;">'''This is an irreversible process! Proceed with CAUTION!'''</div>

Revision as of 13:40, 29 November 2009

In TheHostingTool, you can manage your clients by suspending, unsuspending and terminating their accounts. These functions can be used if users do not meet Paid/Post2Host requirements, if the accounts in question violate the Terms of Service, server upgrades to avoid site modification, etc.

Suspension

Suspension is the disactivation of a cPanel account. It will not cause the user to lose data, but will lock down FTP access, databases, their Apache virtual host, and any other functions associated with their account (SSH, cPanel, etc).

Suspending an account requires access to the administrator control panel. To suspend an account:

  1. Log into the Admin CP
  2. Go to the Clients area (in the sidebar)
  3. Search for the client you would like to suspend
  4. Click on their cPanel username or domain
  5. Click on Suspend Account

Their account is now suspended and nobody will be able to access it until it is unsupended. All visitors will be redirected to the suspended page you set in WHM (Account Functions > Modify Suspended Account Page). To unsuspend their account, perform steps 1-4 but click on Unsuspend Account. The link has been replaced since their account is already suspended.

Termination

Termination is the complete removal of a cPanel account. The user will lose all data associated with their account on the server, remove FTP accounts, remove databases, SSH access and all cPanel functions they were assigned. There is no terminated account page, so users will not receive any notification of their account being terminated unless they are emailed manually.

Terminating an account requires access to the administrator control panel. To terminate an account:

  1. Log into the Admin CP
  2. Go to the Clients area (in the sidebar)
  3. Search for the client you would like to terminate
  4. Click on their cPanel username or domain
  5. Click on Terminate Account
This is an irreversible process! Proceed with CAUTION!